Winter Baking Traditions by Avy

dscn4429

Rice Pudding. Yum!  One of our Swedish traditions is Rice Pudding.   A tradition started a long time ago in Sweden was  that on Christmas Eve they would make Rice Pudding  and put an almond in it, and whoever got the almond in their rice pudding, their wish would come true.   Pops (my grandpa) and I always make it together.

dscn4431

Another tradition is klienjer.   We even make our own dough. One of my favorite parts is dunking the fried cookie in powdered sugar.  This is a Danish tradition that my great grandma taught me.  We only make it at Christmas time because it takes all afternoon to make it and we have to put it outside in the cold to freeze before we fry them.

dscn42651

SWEET smelling Christmas ornaments!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dscn4455

SNOW CREAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWESOME. Yum. Makes my mouth water!  But only use freshly fallen snow!

THE END

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cousin Sara
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 04:23:34

    Avy, next year please sneak some klienjer from the big tupperware on top of the fridge (the one they think you can’t reach), and send it to me. If you’re not sure how to do this, ask your mom.

  2. lifeinlockwoodland
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:02:52

    I’ll save you and Lucian some, but you have to bring him here soon! (My mom told me to say that, but no pressure!) I’ll save some for David too. Love you! Avy

Leave a Reply

