Peace and Justice Part II by Avy

Chapter One

 

I looked at myself. I had twigs in my hair and a rip in my dress. I ran to just the place I was heading to, Kings Head Tavern. I sat down at one of the tables and dumped all the pennies I was saving onto the table. “ Can I get you something?” asked a lady. “Umm” I thought hard. “Can I please have a chocolate bar?” I asked remembering my manners. “Certainly,” the lady replied, and rushed away to get my order. I looked out the window. I saw horses and carriages, people selling fruits, and then I saw something I hated to see. My mom was crying. She was carrying a basket of food. Suddenly, I was pouring my pennies back into my pocket. I left, not taking my order. I raced out the door and down to where my mom was standing.  She was selling food to a lady.  The lady walked away carrying potatoes and strawberries.  I hugged my mom and she hugged me back.  “Where were you?” she cried.  Then, I remembered my chocolate bar!  “I…I ordered a chocolate bar,” I stammered.  “Well, you scared the daylights out of me!” my mom half yelled into my ear.  “Can we just forget about it?” I asked.  “Yes,” sighed my mother, “but you have to go to bed without any dinner!”  “Ok,” I agreed. When I got home, I was sent straight to bed. Instead of going to bed, I lit a candle and shut the door. I got out my quill and ink and wrote a letter to my cousin. I told her what I had done, and she wrote back, saying that what I had done was called running away. She also wrote that if I did that again, she would never share her secrets with me in her letters.

 

 

November 18, 1812, 5:55 a.m.

 

I woke up in the morning to the sound of hoof beats. The horse stopped and someone knocked on our door. I looked out to see that there was a British solider standing on the doorstep. “Open up!” he yelled. But this time he poked the door with his gun, and it crashed to the ground. ”Oh no “! I cried. I struggled in the darkness trying to find my shift. “Oh never mind about my shift.” “I’ll just get it even more torn.”  I banged my door open and felt my way down the hall. Something moved underneath me. Suddenly, I knew who it was. It was the cat. I could tell because he was purring. I leaped over him, and ran down the steps. “Who are you?” I yelled. He didn’t move. I carefully took the musket from under his arm. I held the musket until I heard another crash upstairs. I took that as a signal to run up the stairs, give my dad the musket, and go back to sleep.          

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adriane
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 14:23:24

    Wow, Avy, I sure can tell you’ve been reading a lot of great books–it shows in your writing! Keep reading, and keep writing–your fans await!

  2. Erica Shier
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 03:22:41

    I am glad you’re adding to the story! I can’t wait to hear what happens next!

Leave a Reply

