Avy and Archaeology by Avy

A few weeks ago we were in Virgina visiting our aunt and uncle.  Seeing them was not the only reason we went there. We also went there to see Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown.  At Jamestown there was an archaeological dig. That’s where I became really interested in archaeology.

In this picture I’m watching the archaeologists digging.  As you can see they have been digging for a long time.

They found a lot of things and we were able to see almost everything they found. They found pipes, nails, animal bones, pottery, and bricks. These things were in the ground for over 400 years! We stayed longer at the dig but my brother and dad went on because I guess he wasn’t as interested as I was!

In this next picture we’re at home and I’m reading an archaeology book that I bought at the visitor’s center in Virgina.  You can probably guess what I want to be when I grow up! If you can’t guess I want to be an archaeologist!  And a dance teacher, an artist, a writer, a waitress, and a person who sews a lot.

This is me and my brother pretending to be archaeologists uncovering old coins that my mom had.  One of the coins was made in 1658! I couldn’t believe that the coin was made in the same time period we were studying!

Archaeologists have to be very careful brushing their artifacts because anything in the ground for over 100 years is very fragile. The sand is moon sand that’s because we couldn’t get real sand into our house because my mom says she has something called limits.  In my archaeology book I learned a lot!

Sincerely

Avy! 

P.S. I hope to write again soon!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adriane
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 13:15:25

    What a great entry! You are such a passionate learner, and so contagious! Please keep up the great updates, dear one! Oh, and I loved the comment about “limits”–I have those, too, heehee.

  2. Cousin Sara
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 22:49:37

    Avy, between you and me, waitressing is overrated. It’s an okay way to make money when you’re in college, maybe, but then I’d retire and become an archeologist/writer/dance teacher if I were you. You can ask your mom about my days waitressing at Arne’s.

    When I was in Turkey last summer (2007) I got to see archeological digs and ruins–some things were over 4,000 years old! If you study archeology in college, you can spend a summer working on a dig in Greece, Turkey, or Egypt. I think that might be better than waiting tables….

  3. Cousin Sara
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 22:50:19

    Oh, and then you can learn to belly dance, too, which is what I want to learn next.

Leave a Reply

